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 1 The Situation: Partner opens 1 of a suit. RHO overcalls.

 1.1 Double by responder is “negative.”

 1.1.1 If partner opened a major, it denies three-card support. 

 1.1.2 The primary purpose is to show four cards in the other major(s). 

 1.1.3 If both bid suits are majors, double shows four cards in both minors.

 1.1.4 If both bid suits are minors, it shows four cards in one or both majors. 

 1.1.5 There is no upper limit to the strength. 

 1.2 Exceptions:

 1.2.1 Not applicable to overcalls in notrump or conventional overcalls. 

 1.2.2 Usually limited to an overcall of 3♠ or  thereabouts.  

 1.2.3 With extra length you can stretch a bit to meet the HCP requirements. 

 2 Can opener pass the double? Yes, the Rule of 9 will be covered at a later date. 

Next week: When should responder pass after an overcall? 

Opener Opp Responder Shows HCP

Dbl 4 hearts 6+

Dbl 4 spades 6+

Dbl 6+

Dbl 6+

Dbl 4 hearts 8+

Dbl 4 hearts 8+

Dbl 8+

Dbl 4 spades* 8+
Any suit 1NT Dbl Penalty 6/8+

5 spades 6+

5 hearts 10+

4 diamonds 12+

* Some people reverse the meaning of these two.

1♣ 1♠
1♣ 1♥

1♣ 1♦
4 hearts & 4 
spades*

1♥ 1♠
4 clubs & 4 
diamonds

1♠ 2♣
1♠ 2♦

1♠ 2♥
4 clubs & 4 
diamonds

1♦ 2♣

1♣ 1♥ 1♠
1♣ 1♠ 2♥
1♠ 2♥ 3♦




